Travel into the future

Great creativity comes out of bets among a few friends! Same happened in the year 1939. A few employees of the oil company in the U.S decided to bet on travelling with the same amount of fuel, to see who gets to the destination first! Through that bet came the great initiation of Shell Eco Marathon Competition. Today, this marathon is enjoyed in three renowned countries which are America, Asia and Europe. Refreshing youth from different areas are welcomed at one platform to perform with their energy efficient vehicles and win the competition.

Furthermore, we have different youngsters teaming up for the travel in the future with the least amount of fuel, in the Mileage Challenge in Asian Edition. We have got three winners to celebrate for the challenge this year, which are as follows:

Sakonnakhon Technical Virgin Thailand got the credit this year for the Prototype category. What they presented was a Virgin fitted with an internal combustion engine which ran 2288.9 km/l.

After that the Guangzhou College of South China University of Technology won the next prize with their battery electric HuaQi-EV, which went on for 474.1km/l.

Last but not the least the Universiti Teknologi Mara Shah Alam, Malaysia, got the next winner title with their hydrogen fuel cell UiTM Eco-Sprint, which travelled for about 359.4km/l.

If we talk about the Urban concept category we had total two winners for that:

With the distance travelled of 374.9km/l, the Universitas Indonesia’s internal combustion engine Sadewa, was awarded with the winner’s trophy.

Moreover, with the distance of 107.8km/l, Lac Hong University, Vietnam’s battery electric LH-EST, was awarded as the second best.

The competitions did not just end there! There was one more competition, named as the Drivers’ World Championship Asia, which occurred last year with the Eco Marathon programme. The proven energy efficient of cars mixed with the speed and skill of their drivers was tested by various winner teams of the Urban Concept. To check which team reached the finish line first with least fuel, a race was arranged.

The winners were:

De La Salle University of the Philippines (Team DSLU Eco Car ICE), was awarded as the first best.

The second best was, Sebelas Maret University of Indonesia (Bengawan Team 2) with Institut Teknologi Sepuluh Nopember.

Another second best was the, Indonesia (ITS Team 2).

There is a Grand finale to be held in London, in the month of July, in which there will be a competition against the three winners from Europe and America.

6 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply